Patron Blocks Dialog Box
This dialog box appears during checkout or renewal when the transacting patron record has a block, or when an associated patron record is blocked and there is a blocking relationship between the two records. See Working with Blocks (Stops).
- Override the blocks and continue the transaction - Click Yes (or press Y). You must have the appropriate permissions to override blocks. See Setting Circulation Permissions. If the only block is for a held item, you can override the block without special permission.
- Stop the transaction - Click No (or press N).
- Manage the blocks - Select a block to manage and press Enter. The appropriate workform opens. For example, if the block is Patron owes money, the Patron Status workform - Account view opens. For Verify Patron blocks, the Patron Registration workform opens. For associated patron blocks, the Patron Status workform for the associated patron opens.
- For overdue or long overdue blocks, check in the items, make claims, or declare the items lost. See Doing Normal Item Check-Ins, Working with Claims, or Managing Lost Items.
- For amounts owed, resolve the charges. See Processing Charges and Payments.
- For Verify Patron blocks, verify the patron’s account information and save the patron record. See Resolve a Verify Patron block.
- For unread patron messages, an alert message appears in the Patron Blocks dialog box. You can continue the check-out operation or cancel it, and you can also click the block text to open the Patron Status workform - Notes view. The alert message does not place any blocks on patron activity in the PAC. For more information about patron messages, see Posting Patron Messages.
- Delete staff-generated blocks or blocking notes if appropriate. See Delete a patron block.